Life as Rupert, the mouse

My name is Rupert, the mouse. This essay is completely about my friends, my enemies and me. If you are not interested in a mouse’s life, than do not read any further. Just STOP. If you are interested then continue reading, as this will get very interesting. So as I already said my name is Rupert. My friend Samantha and I were looking for peanut butter (mice actually prefer not to eat cheese) when we met a fox. He said his name was Joey and told us of a land where peanut butter was everywhere. Even the castles were made of the delicious sticky stuff. We bought it. After we walked for what seemed like miles we came six way split in the road. I was about to ask Joey which way to go but he was nowhere to be seen. We thought for hours and hours and then Samantha said I think we should rest and maybe in the morning we’ll figure it out. So we did. While we were sleeping Joey mousenapped us and took us to his hole. In there we woke up and found ourselves locked up in a cage, dangling on a thread from the roof, hanging over a seemingly bottomless pit. There was a large padlock on a door. We tried climbing through the bars but they were a bit too small. I found a small piece of metal and bent it into a key while Joey wasn’t looking. When he looked back we were nowhere to be seen. Already a few hundred yards away. We got to the nearest maple tree and hid under a couple leaves. We decided that we’ve ran enough today and need some sleep. (again).

